Frequently Asked Questions

Joining Learn & Grow is easy! Below are the most commonly asked questions when getting started.

NEW! Where can I learn more about the entire framework?

Watch this short video to learn more about Learn & Grow’s complete Level 1-5 framework and roll-out schedule. Learn about the fixed quality activities associated with Levels 1-5, new points menu for Levels 3-5, thread Tools resources, and other supports that will help you plan your early childhood education (ECE) program’s advancement in quality.

NEW! What supports and resources are available to my ECE program once we join Learn & Grow?

To help your ECE program progress in Learn & Grow, the following resources and tools will be available in 2021-22:

  • thread Tools – an online library of templates and information for program management
  • Peer learning in cohorts for Program Administrators
  • Increased financial & marketing support
  • Continued technical assistance and coaching from thread
  • A new online portal for you to access your Learn & Grow information
Is there a cost to sign up for Learn & Grow?

No, there is no cost to sign up for Learn & Grow. Programs voluntarily choose to participate.

Is there a fee for the training?

thread offers Learn & Grow training.  There is no cost for programs for Level 2, 3, or 4 trainings offered by thread.  Other online training or university courses may have fees associated with them.  These professional development trainings may be reimbursed by Alaska SEED.

Does Learn & Grow 101 training count for licensing training?

Yes, Learn & Grow 101 training is Alaska SEED approved and meets Alaska SEED Training Approval system requirements.

What happens if my program changes locations? What will happen to my Learn & Grow Recognition Level?

If an ECE program moves location, the program’s Learn & Grow Recognition is still valid at the new licensed location of their program.

What are Quality Domain areas?

There are four Learn & Grow quality domain areas within each of the five (5) levels of Learn & Grow. There are specific requirements related to quality in each. Click here to find out more about each Quality Domain.

Is there a time limit to achieving Level 1 recognition?

Programs have 120 business days to complete and become a verified Level 1 program.

Can my program skip a level and go straight to a higher level of quality?

No, ECE programs must first achieve the previous level requirements before they can enroll in the next level.

How long will it take to complete Level 2?

Each ECE program is different. Learn & Grow supports are designed to meet the individual needs of each ECE program. ECE programs set their own pace and identify what is feasible and achievable for their program to complete.

My program accepts Child Care Assistance and Alaska Child Care Grants (CCG). Are we required to participate in Learn & Grow?

No, ECE programs that accept State, or Tribal Child Care Assistance, or receive funding from the Alaska Child Care Grant (CCG), are not required to participate in Learn & Grow.

Will my program’s Learn & Grow recognition level be shared publicly?

Yes, Learn & Grow programs are posted here on the Learn & Grow website and in thread’s online child care search tool for parents. Learn & Grow programs are identified to help parents in their selection of a quality program.

How often will my program have to renew its recognition level?

Level 1 and Level 2 are renewed annually. Level 3-5 are renewed every other year.

Are there required trainings?
  • Level 1: There is one required training for leadership team members and lead teachers: Learn & Grow 101.
  • Level 2: There are six required trainings for leadership and lead teachers: Strengthening Families, Pyramid Foundations, Introduction to Alaska Early Childhood Core Knowledge and Competencies, Alaska Early Learning Guidelines, and Introduction to ERS or CLASS training. Administrators must also complete the Alaska Early Childhood Administrator Credential (Level 2 trainings + training in fiscal and human resource management).
  • Level 3: There are eight training topics for leadership team members and lead teachers.
  • Level 4: There are five training topics. See the Quality Activities for more details.
What is the Moving Into Higher Quality Training?

The Moving into Higher Quality Training is the training associated with Level 2 for lead teachers and leadership team. This training includes: Strengthening Families, Pyramid Foundations, Introduction to Alaska Early Childhood Core Knowledge and Competencies, Alaska Early Learning Guidelines, and Introduction to ERS or CLASS training.

Who qualifies as a lead teacher?

Staff identified by a program as the primary caregiver in each classroom is equivalent to the lead teacher. This may or may not be a program’s Child Development Leader (CDL) or Child Care Administrator (CCA).

Who is involved in a leadership team?

Programs can identify who their leadership team members are. Those involved in making decisions about your program are most likely leadership team members. At minimum, the program administrator is a member of the leadership team.

Will Learn & Grow training need to be repeated with each renewal?

Once an individual completes the required training associated with the level their program is working on, they have satisfied the training requirement of the specific level.

If I have completed any or all of the trainings in Levels 2-4 in the past, do I have to retake them for Learn & Grow?

No. If you have completed any of the Level 2, 3, or 4 trainings in the past, prior to enrolling in Learn & Grow, you do not need to repeat them.

What is Alaska SEED?

The Alaska System for Early Education Development, or Alaska SEED, is the state’s early childhood professional development system. Housed and managed by thread, Alaska SEED is a collaborative of Head Start, the Tribal Childcare Association, State of Alaska Departments of Education and Early Development, Health and Social Services, and Labor, thread, and other nonprofit agencies in the state.

How do Alaska SEED and Learn & Grow work together?
  • Alaska SEED identifies and supports professional development for individuals working in the early childhood education field. Learn & Grow identifies and supports quality activities for early childhood education programs. Staff Qualifications & Professional Development is one of the four Learn & Grow Quality Standard areas.
  • Both Alaska SEED and Learn & Grow are housed and managed at thread, Alaska’s Child Care Resource and Referral Network.

See the Learn & Grow Policies and Procedures and/ or Program Guide for more detailed information related to how to achieve and document Level 1-5 quality activities.